[HUD homes]
How To Become An Approved 203(k) Consultant

To apply for placement on the FHA 203(k) Consultant Roster, an applicant must fully understand the requirements of the 203(k) Rehabilitation Mortgage Insurance Program and must not be listed on the following exclusionary lists:

  • General Services Administration's (GSA) System for Award Management (SAM);
  • HUD's Limited Denial of Participation (LDP) List; or
  • HUD's Credit Alert Verification Reporting System (CAIVRS).

Application and Approval Requirements

The applicant must meet the qualifications for one or more of the following application and approval requirements.

  • Be a state-licensed architect with proof of current license;
  • Be a state licensed engineer with proof of current license;
  • Have at least 3 years of experience as a remodeling contractor or general contractor or proof of current license if required by state; or
  • Have at least 3 years of experience as a home inspector or proof of current license if required by state.

Required Documentation

  • A narrative demonstrating their ability to conduct a Feasibility Study, review or prepare architectural exhibits, prepare Work Write-Ups and Cost Estimates, complete draw request inspections and prepare change order requests.
  • A list of states where applicants are doing business and provide eligibility documentation for each state.
  • Proof of current license if applicable.
  • A certification verifying that the applicant has read and fully understands the requirements of Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 4000.1.
  • A 203(k) Consultant's Certification on their letterhead.

Biennial Recertification

To retain placement on the FHA 203(k) Consultant Roster, the consultant must recertify that they are still in compliance with all laws, regulations, licensing, certification, registration, or other approval requirements that govern their ability to perform as a 203(k) consultant in the states where they do business as required, on the 203(k) Consultant Biennial Recertification Form with their letterhead. Recertification is required every two years from the date of placement on the roster.

For detailed information on how to become a 203(k) consultant or recertification for existing 203(k) Consultants, refer to the 203(k) Consultant Requirements in Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 4000.1.

Stages of Application Process

[A picture of a puzzle with a solution piece presented]

Application Incomplete

  • A letter indicating the information required to cure the deficiency is sent out.
  • 15 days from the date of the letter to correct the deficiency.
  • If deficiencies are not satisfied, application will be denied and there's an additional 90-day waiting period prior to re-applying.

[A picture of a calculator, pen, and house stating Approved]


  • FHA will inform the applicant of approval.
  • A Consultant Identification (ID) will be issued.
  • Name will be added to the consultant roster.
  • Consultant ID MUST be included in all documents that require Consultant's signature.
  • Approval does not create, endorse, or imply a warranty by FHA.
  • Approval does not represent an FHA warranty of work performed.

[A picture of a Stamp for Denial]

Application Denied

  • FHA will inform the applicant of the reason for denial.
  • A new application must be submitted after resolving any issues.


Contact the FHA Resource Center for more 203(k) information.

Return to 203(k) Home Page