Home / Program Offices / Housing / RMRA / MPS / Category III States
Category III States

In 30 States, HUD has agreed to accept State approval of modular housing so that manufacturers do not have to obtain a separate SEB.  These States are called Category III Housing States.  In Category III States, housing units or building components that are subject to State regulations for design and construction receive a State label.

Regulation Contacts for Modular and Panelized Housing

ALABAMA
Jimmy Harris, Administrator
Manufactured Housing Commission
350 South Decatur Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
PH: (334) 242-1421
FAX: (334) 240-3178
Email:
jimmy.harris@amhc.alabama.gov

ARIZONA
Tara Brunetti, Assistant Deputy Director
Arizona Department of Housing 
Office of Manufactured Housing
1110 West Washington, Suite 280
Phoenix, AZ  85007
PH: 602-771-1035
FAX: 602-771-1002
Email: tara.brunetti@azhousing.gov

CALIFORNIA
John J. Westfall
District Representative II
Department of Housing and Community Development
Manufactured and Factory-built Housing Programs

9342 Tech Center Drive, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA  95826

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 31
Sacramento, CA  95812-0031

PH: (916) 263-7430
FAX: (916) 263-4713
Email: john.westfall@hcd.ca.gov

COLORADO
Maulid (Mo) Miskell, Director
Office of Regulatory Oversight
Building Codes and Standards Section
Department of Local Affairs, Division of Housing
1313 Sherman Street, #321
Denver, CO  80203-2244
PH: (303) 864-7833
FAX: (303) 864-7857
Email: maulid.miskell@state.co.us

FLORIDA
Robert Lorenzo
Codes and Standards
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0772
PH: (850) 717-1835
FAX: (850) 414-8436
Email:
robert.lorenzo@myfloridalicense.com

GEORGIA
Theodore Miltiades, Director
Industrialized Buildings
Department of Community Affairs
60 Executive Park South, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30329-2231
PH: (404) 679-3118
Email: dca-ib@dca.ga.gov

IDAHO
Mike Davis, Inspector/Advisor
Idaho SAA/IPIA Coordinator
Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150
Meridian, ID  83642
PH: (208) 332-8986
FAX: (208) 855-2164
Email:
mike.davis@dbs.idaho.gov

ILLINOIS
Andrew Frierdich, P.E.
Manager, General Engineering Program
Division of Environmental Health
Illinois Department of Public Health
525 West Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62761
PH: (217) 782-5830
FAX: (217)
785-0253
Email: andrew.frierdich@illinois.gov

INDIANA
Kristin Settle
Section Chief
Code Enforcement
Division of Fire and Building Safety
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
Office of the State Fire Marshal
302 West Washington Street, Room W246
Indianapolis, IN  46204
PH: (317) 232-2222
FAX: (317) 233-0307
E-mail:
ksettle@dhs.in.gov 

IOWA
Eric Neddermeyer, State Building Code Inspector
Iowa Department of Public Safety
State Fire Marshal Division
215 E. 7th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0047
PH: (515) 
238-1674
FAX: (515) 725-6172
Email: nedderme@dps.state.ia.us

KENTUCKY
Gary Feck
Director, Building Codes Enforcement
Department of Housing, Building, and Construction
Manufactured Housing Division
500 Mero Street, Floor 1
Frankfort, KY  40601
PH: 502-573-0373
FAX: 502-573-1059
Email: gary.feck@ky.gov

MARYLAND
Norman C. Wang, RA
Director, Building Codes Administration
Department of Labor and Industry
Department of Labor
1100 N. Eutaw Street, Room 606
Baltimore, MD 21201

PH: 410-767-0548
FAX: 410-767-2986
Email: norman.wang1@maryland.gov

MICHIGAN
Jon Paradine, State Administrative Manager
Building and Permits Division
Bureau of Construction Codes
State of Michigan
611 W Ottawa St, 1st Floor, Lansing

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 30254
Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: (517) 930-9361
Email: paradinej@michigan.gov

MINNESOTA
Herman Hauglid, Supervisor
Construction Codes and Licensing Division
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN 55155-4341
PH: 651-284-5875
FAX: 651-284-5749
Email: herman.hauglid@state.mn.us

MONTANA
Eric Copeland, Bureau Chief
Building and Commercial Measurements Bureau
Department of Labor and Industry
State of Montana
301 South Park Avenue
Helena, MT  59620
PH: 406-841-2053
FAX: 406-841-2050
Email: ecopeland@mt.gov

NEBRASKA
Lenora Isom, Director
Housing and Recreational Vehicle Department
Nebraska Public Service Commission
1200 "N" Street, 300 The Atrium
Lincoln, NE 68508

Mailing Address
P. O. Box 94927
Lincoln, NE 68509-4927

PH: (402) 471-0213
FAX: (402) 471-7709
E-mail:
Lenora.isom@nebraska.gov

NEVADA
Steve G. Aichroth, Administrator 
Nevada Housing Division
Manufactured Housing Division
1830 East College Parkway, Suite 120
Carson City, NV  89706
PH: 775-687-2246
FAX: 775-684-2949
Email: saichroth@housing.nv.gov

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Sean P. Toomey, P.E.
Deputy State Fire Marshal - 
Bureau of Building Safety and Construction
New Hampshire State Fire Marshal's Office
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
PH: (603) 223-4289
FAX: (603) 223-3609
Email:
sean.p.toomey@dos.nh.gov

NEW JERSEY
Keith Makai
Code Assistance Unit
Department of Community Affairs
Division of Codes & Standards
101 South Broad Street
P.O. Box 816
Trenton, NJ 08625-0816
PH: (609) 984-7609
FAX: (609) 984-7084
Email:
keith.makai@dcs.nj.gov

NEW MEXICO
Martin Romero, CBO
General Construction Bureau Chief
Regulation and Licensing Department
Construction Industries Division
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM  87505
PH: (505) 795-1640
FAX: (505) 476-4672
Email: Martin.Romero@state.nm.us

NEW YORK
William Sherman 
Assistant Director
Building Standards and Codes Division
NYS Department of State
One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue, Suite 1160
Albany, NY 12231-0001
PH: (518) 486-5096
FAX: (518) 486-4487
Email:
william.sherman@dos.ny.gov

NORTH CAROLINA
Joseph H. Sadler, Jr., PE
Deputy Commissioner
Manufactured Building Division
Office of the State Fire Marshal
NC Department of Insurance
325 N. Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27603-1388

Mailing Address:
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202

PH: (919) 647-0000
FAX: (919) 715-0067
Email: joe.sadler@ncdoi.gov

PENNSYLVANIA
Michael Moglia, Administrator
Housing Standards Division
PA Department of Community and Economic Development
Commonwealth Keystone Building
400 North Street, 4th Floor
Harrisburg, PA  17120-0225
Phone: (717) 720-7416
Fax: (717) 787-6939
Email:  mmoglia@pa.gov

RHODE ISLAND
John Leyden, Building Commissioner
State Building Code Commission
560 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, RI  02866
PH: (401) 889-5484
FAX: (401) 889-5535
Email:  john.leyden@doa.ri.gov 

SOUTH CAROLINA
Maggie Castles, Modular Building Program
South Carolina Department of Labor,
Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
PH: (803) 896-4688
FAX: (803) 896-4614
Email:
maggie.castles@llr.sc.gov

TENNESSEE
Jim Hightower, Director
Manufactured Housing Section
Tennessee State Fire Marshal’s Office
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Division of Fire Prevention
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN  37243
PH: 615-253-
5811
FAX: 615-741-9388
Email: Jim.Hightower@tn.gov

Designee:
Stephen Hibner, IPIA/SAA Manager
PH: 615-532-7696
Email: steve.hibner@tn.gov

TEXAS
Kelly Kelly, Program Specialist
Industrialized Housing and Buildings Program
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711
PH: (512) 539-5730
FAX: (512) 539-5736
Email: ihbtech@tdlr.texas.gov

VIRGINIA
Jeff Brown, MCP
Director of State Building Codes Office
Division of Building and Fire Regulation
VA Department of Housing and Community Development
600 East Main Street, Suite 1100
Richmond, VA  23219
PH: 804-371-7161
FAX: 804-371-7092
Email: jeff.brown@dhcd.virginia.gov

WASHINGTON
Shane Daugherty, Program Chief
Factory Assembled Structures Program Manager
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
Department of Labor and Industries
Factory Assembled Structures
7273 Linderson Way SW

Tumwater, WA  98501-4430

Mailing Address
P. O. Box 44430
Olympia, WA 98504-4430

PH: (360) 902-5222
FAX: (360) 902-5229
Email: dauu235@LNI.WA.GOV

WISCONSIN
Jack Wotruba
HUD/UDC Consultant
WI Department of Safety and Professional Services
2331 San Luis Place
Green Bay, WI  54304
PH: 920-360-0020
Email: jack.wotruba@wisconsin.gov