Home / Program Offices / Housing / FHA Loan Limits Under HERA
FHA Single-Family Loan Limits
January 1 – December 31, 2014

Temporary loan limit authority, first given to HUD by Congress in the Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 (ESA), and then extended multiple times through a series of temporary legislative authorities, expired at the end of December 2013. The FHA single-family loan limits for 2014 are established using the permanent authority under section 203(b)(2) of the National Housing Act, as amended by the Congress in the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA). While there are many changes in loan limits for so-called high-cost areas, the national standard (floor) limit remains at $271,050 for 2014.

Mortgagee Letter 2013-43 Implementing the 2014 Loan Limits (ML 13-43)

List of Counties with Maximum FHA Loan Limits: Areas at the ceiling;

List of other Counties with FHA High-Cost-Area Loan Limits: floor and ceiling.

List of Counties Potentially Eligible for Appeals During the Open Appeals Period (PDF)

FHA Mortgage Limits Look-up Query Tool

Analysis of the Impact of New 2014 Loan Limits on FHA Insurance Activity in FY 2013 – a Report (PDF).



FHA Single-Family Loan Limits October 1 - December 31, 2011

On October 1, 2011, HUD will implement FHA loan-limit authorities established in the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA), which are codified at 12 USC 1709. Since January 2009, FHA loan-limits have been subject to temporary legislation requiring HUD to use the higher of limits calculated under HERA, and those established for 2008 under the Economic Stimulus Act of 2008. The switch to full HERA implementation at this time will have significant effects on so-called high-cost areas, where loan limits are above the national floor ($271,050). There is no effect for counties where the loan limit is now at the national floor amount.

Analysis of the Impact of Reduced Loan Limits on FHA Insurance Activity (PDF) Data (Excel)

High Cost FHA Loan Limits (Excel)

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Housing, Risk Management and Regulatory Affairs, Office of Evaluation