Mobile Search Icon
Header Image for Print


Fair Housing And Equal Opportunity

The mission of the Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO) is to eliminate housing discrimination, promote economic opportunity, and achieve diverse, inclusive communities by leading the nation in the enforcement, administration, development, and public understanding of federal fair housing policies and laws.

FHEO protects people from discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, and familial status.  In addition, housing providers that receive HUD funding, have loans insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), as well as lenders insured by FHA, may be subject to HUD program regulations intended to ensure equal access of LGBT persons.

FHEO NEWS

Sept

Wed, Sept 6, 2017

August

Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Wednesday, August 2, 2017

June

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

May

Monday, May 22, 2017
Tues, May 16, 2017
Wed, May 03, 2017

April

Wed, April 19, 2017

March

Wed, March 29, 2017

fair housing month

 

Friday, March 10, 2017

February

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

January

Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017

Want timely access to published Fair Housing guidance, news, legal actions, events, and activities?  Subscribe to the FHEO News listserv (mailing list) by clicking on the following link:

Want timely access to published Fair Housing guidance, news, legal actions, events, and activities? Subscribe to the FHEO News listserv (mailing list) by clicking on the following link: FHEO Email List Stock of books icon Fair Housing Library WIKI FHEO Wiki rss FHEO Channel
Community and You
 

This online tool will help community advocates: broaden children s social networks by creating opportunities for interaction across racial and ethnic lines; contribute to greater tolerance, fair-mindedness and openness; and prohibit discrimination because of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status or disability.

The AFFH rule fulfills a long-standing obligation under the Fair Housing Act for HUD-funded recipients to take affirmative steps to dismantle historic patterns of segregation and eliminate disparities in access to opportunity regardless of protected class. AFFH is built on the fundamental ideal that the doors of opportunity should be open to everyone.