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                CHAPTER 4.  WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE

                       EXPLANATION AND REQUIREMENTS

4-1. WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE AND EMPLOYERS' LIABILITY

     COVERAGE.

     a.   The current Workers' Compensation and Employers'

          Liability policy is the cumulative result of more than 50

          years of compromise between employers and employees in

          which injured employees relinquish the right to sue their

          employers for employment related injuries in return for

          a statutory imposed mechanism providing specific

          scheduled benefits which are funded for the most part by

          insurance.

     b.   Each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American

          Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands have

          workers' compensation statutes.  (Nevada, North Dakota,

          Ohio, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming administer

          their own monopolistic workers compensation funds.)

          Workers' compensation insurance has been, and most likely

          will continue to be the most effective method available

          to an employer for compensation to employees and their

          families for work-related injuries or diseases as

          prescribed by law. Employers' liability coverage protects

          employers when suits are filed against them for

          employment related incidents that are not compensable

          under Workers' Compensation coverage.

     NOTE: Workers' compensation coverage is not an employee

           benefit.  It is a casualty insurance coverage.

4-2. DIVISIONS OF COVERAGE.

     The Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability policy

     contains three distinct areas of coverage.

     Part One.  This is the Workers' Compensation section, under

     which the insurer agrees to assume the liability imposed upon

     the insured by the workers' compensation law or laws of the

     state where the HA is located.
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     Part Two.  This is the Employers' Liability section (the

     standard limit is $100,000 and the premium is included in the

     Workers' Compensation rate) which protects the insured against

     liability imposed by law for injury to employees in the course

     of employment that is not compensable under the Workers'

     Compensation section.  This portion of the contract

     essentially is similar to the CGL coverages and is subject to

     about the same conditions.

     Part Three.  This section provides other states insurance for

     workers' compensation and employers liability coverage in

     states where an insured may have incidental exposures that are

     not listed on the declaration page for purposes of Part One

     coverage.  This coverage applies only to those states listed

     under the Other States insurance section of the policy.

4-3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE RATING.

     In most states, workers compensation insurance is provided by

     private insurance companies, but in some states there are

     state funds from which the HA must fund their compensation

     insurance.  The premiums are based on a rate per $100 of

     payroll and are assigned by classification of the operations

     or employment.  Such types of employment that involve a

     greater degree of hazard are charged a higher rate than less

     dangerous occupations.  The rating classifications and the

     payroll amounts are shown on the declaration page of the

     Workers' Compensation insurance contract.  The National

     Council on Compensation Insurance (a national rating

     organization) has developed a separate classification for

     employees of HAs.  This classification groups all HA employees

     into one class without a distribution into various types of

     duties performed.  However, some states may require the use of

     various classes for HAs.

4-4. EXPERIENCE RATING.

     Workers' Compensation contracts are subject to experience

     rating if the premium exceeds a certain annual amount, which

     will vary by state.  This experience rating allows the

     insurance company to either increase or decrease the rate per

     $100 of payroll depending on the loss experience of the

     insured.  The percentage of increase is expressed as an

     experience modifier and is shown on the declaration page of

     the contract.  Thus, an HA without any losses may have a

     modifier of .80 which means they will be charged 80 percent
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     of the rate to reflect good experience.  A HA with severe

     losses may have an experience modifier of 1.3 meaning they

     will pay 130 percent of the base rate to reflect poor

     experience.  The experience modifier generally reflects a

     running three-year experience period.

4-5. PREMIUM PAYMENT.

     For Workers' Compensation insurance, the amount paid at the

     inception of the contract represents an estimate based on the

     payroll amount expected during the contract term and the rates

     in effect at the inception of the contract.  At the end of the

     contract period, an audit of the actual payroll for the

     insured period is made by the insurance company and the actual

     premium is established using the actual payroll amount.  The

     final premium also reflects any increase or decrease in rates

     which may have occurred during the term of the contract.  Any

     additional premium resulting from the audit or any rate change

     is billed by the insurance company. In order to avoid

     substantial expenses of this nature, the HAs should be certain

     that the estimated payroll shown on the Declaration page and

     used to develop the deposit premium, accurately reflects the

     anticipated payroll for the policy period.  When comparing

     competitive proposals for Workers' Compensation insurance,

     care should be taken that all offerors use the same estimated

     payroll and classes in order to have a standard basis for

     comparison.

4-6. MONOPOLISTIC STATE FUNDS.

     Six states: Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Washington, West

     Virginia, and Wyoming have established state workers'

     compensation insurance funds and granted them a monopoly

     position, excluding private insurers from providing the

     coverage.

4-7. VOLUNTARY COMPENSATION ENDORSEMENT.

     The majority of HAs will enlist the help of unpaid voluntary

     workers.  The voluntary worker, in most states, is not covered

     by the state's workers' compensation laws.  The Department

     recommends that the workers' compensation policy be endorsed

     to cover this exposure.
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4-8. PARTIES INSURED.

     A HA shall be shown as the named insured.  The U.S. Department

     of Housing and Urban Development should not be named as an

     insured.

4-9. FULL AND OPEN COMPETITION.

     Competition in procurement is required, except that

     procurement by noncompetitive proposals through solicitation

     from only one source is authorized (and waiver of any ACC

     requirements to the contrary is hereby granted) when award is

     otherwise infeasible under the sealed bidding, competitive

     proposals, or small purchase method of procurement because the

     item is available only from a single source (e.g., in states

     or jurisdictions with monopolistic workers' compensation state

     funds), or after solicitation of sources, competition is

     determined inadequate.
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