Mobile Search Icon
Header Image for Print

      Federal Housing Administration (FHA)

Frequently Asked Questions



Keep up to Date with Breaking FHA News - Join the FHA Info List Serv

Posted May 16th, 2018

     Extension of HECM Foreclosure Timelines for Properties Impacted by Hurricane Maria in Affected Areas in Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) announced that due to the extensive damage caused by Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has exercised its authority to extend foreclosure timelines through August 16, 2018, for Home Equity Conversion Mortgages (HECM) on impacted properties in those Presidentially-Declared Major Disaster Areas (PDMDAs).

This extension is applicable only to those counties declared eligible for Individual Assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). It applies to both the initiation of foreclosures and foreclosures already in process on HECMs that become due and payable for reasons other than the death of the last surviving borrower and eligible non-borrowing spouse.

This guidance is effective immediately and is applicable to all homeowners with FHA-insured HECM mortgages whose property or place of employment is in the PDMDAs for Puerto Rico’s Hurricane Maria (FEMA-DR-4339) and U.S. Virgin Islands’ Hurricane Maria (FEMA-DR-4340).